Our EYFS curriculum

Our youngest pupils follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

There are three prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

There are also four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

‘Characteristics of effective learning’ are also observed to find out the children’s preferred learning styles and interests. The characteristics are:

  • Playing and Exploring

  • Creating and Thinking Critically

  • Active Learning

Our curriculum is delivered in a variety of ways including child initiated learning, adult led learning and play based learning. Children have access to high quality indoor and outdoor environments which are carefully planned to ensure each child achieves their full potential.

At the end of the Reception year the EYFS profile is completed for each child. Children are assessed against the ‘Early Learning Goals’ (ELGs) and those who are working at the ‘expected’ level or are ‘exceeding’ these levels in all of the prime areas, Literacy and Mathematics are given Good Level of Development (GLD).

If you would like to find out more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage at Collingwood, please contact the class teachers or Mrs Pasquale, Phase Lead, who will be happy to answer any questions you may have.